Chronic kidney disease (CKD), also called chronic kidney failure, is a process that damages the kidneys, impeding their ability to filter blood.

There are five stages of CKD, each of which require different treatment programmes. For more information on these, click here.

Your doctor determines your stage of kidney disease based on the presence of kidney damage and your estimated Glomerular Filtration Rate (GFR), which is a measure of your level of kidney function.

CKD does not necessarily mean you will reach end-stage renal failure (ESRF); many factors influence the progression of kidney disease, such as diet and fitness. However, as kidney failure develops, dialysis or transplantation may be needed.

In many cases, malfunction is only picked up through routine blood or urine tests. For more information, click here.

Symptoms of kidney disease can include:

  • Changes in urination
  • Swollen limbs
  • Fatigue
  • Skin rashes
  • Metallic taste in mouth
  • Nausea / vomiting
  • Shortness of breath
  • Feeling cold
  • Dizziness
  • Trouble concentrating
  • Leg and back pain